What file format do you render to?

I’ve been using targa sequences for animations for clients in SD and HD in the past. I have done little post work and use premiere pro to encode.

I’m beginning to move some of my workflow to photoreal vray rendering from scanline and also upping the size to 4K renders.

From the training I’m getting, it looks like OpenEXR is the way to go now for rendering image sequences. I’m guessing because the file size is less than targas, it is still lossless, and it contains some exposure control that I wasn’t sure was in the targas, although it may have been.

I’m not sure premiere pro cs6 can import OpenEXR, but after effects cs6 can, and since photoreal work requires post work, i.e. color correction, exposure adjustments, et. al, I was wondering what you all use to render your image sequences to and why.

EXR is definitely the norm among the pros, but I’m not a pro so I only get to use JPG and PNG.

Yeah, I’m learning post work and images really come to life with adjustments like curve and exposure control, among others, where having that info in the exr makes it crucial. I’m not that good at it yet and I think the advantage over other formats makes that extra bit of difference. I’m guessing that’s why ILM made it, along with saved file space.

For the best flexibility in post use EXR, if you’re using max 2014+ there is an ‘Automatic Gamma’ setting that should be on to ensure the gamma gets set to 1.0 for EXR files. You can save your EXRs as 16bi half-float rather than 32bit to save file size and speed up comp workflow, you rarely need the full 32bit. If doing animation compositing in Fusion or Nuke you can set the save mode to region and make the file sizes even smaller.

We don’t include render elements in the EXRs as it makes the file-sizes too big so we save to separate files.

Hope that helps!

I moved from jpeg (when storage was still a problem and comping very basic) to 16 bit Tifs to 48 bit PNG.