O1 Visa question

Hi everyone. I’m a visual effects artist from Norway.
I am currently in the process of applying to the O1 Visa. As an applicant it is highly recommended to be a member of a association or respective guild, in my case that would be VES (Visual Effect Society). Does anyone have any experience in applying for a membership there? At their website, under membership, it states that you need the endorsement of two members in order to apply. Has anyone here applied without or prior to knowing any members? Other tips regarding O1 for visual effects artist in general would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers.

Considering the O1 visa is for people who are in a highly regarded position in their field, I’d imagine an O1 candidate would have no problem joining the VES, because they’d surely be well connected enough… ? Remember though that membership of an organisation is just one of numerous ways to qualify for the O1; speak to your immigration attorney about the other criteria, as you may find some of the other options simpler to fulfil.

leigh, my bad, I miss understood. Apparently you can receive a letter of recommendation without being a member.