Newbie looking for the right tool

OK …some may have seen my questions in the C4D forum and must be wondering …what brings me to this forum.

The answer is I am still not sold on the higher end applications given my circumstance.

I am a hobbyist, looking to get my feet wet with something beyond Blender, I have experience in 2D animation and want to basically build models, rig and animate in 3D.

My interest is stuff like rattatoulie, the incredibles etc. I know that stuff is difficult, I just pointed to that to show what my interests ares.

I have had some modeling experience in blender but I feel the animation interface is too cumbersome.

My questions regarding Messiah are:

[ol]
[li] When it comes to animating how does the software stack up to the big boys like Maya and XSI which seems to be the leaders in animation?[/li][li] How does it stack up to other lesser apps like DAZ/CARARRA/Electric Image, for animating. I watched a u-tube video found in this forum about DAZ puppeteer feature and saw where this could provide assistant with animating, is Messiah that acomadating?[/li][li] If there is no modeling done with Messiah can it fluidly import models from blender, wings, hexagon etc…[/li][li] if you don’t buy the additional license that allows multi-thread rendering, how slow would it render?[/li][/ol] Finally, I am not trying to start some software war here …I have been reading the forum…I am just looking for information.

Thanks

It stacks up well against the “big” animation packages. There are things that are not there that others have but there is a LOT in messiah that others do not. Armatures, super responsive interface etc. Especially the next version that is right around the corner.

puppeteer looks fun but I think once you have blocked in your rough motion you will always want to get down to the nitty gritty tools that give you the precise control you need. Messiah gives you that.