Madmorrie's time machine

Hi All,

First post here as I found this comp on the Modo site and figured I’d have a go. I’m a professional retoucher, but I’ve dabbled with 3D for 20 odd years now across various packages. I finally settled on Modo a few years ago and have used it for a bunch of jobs, both paid and personal. I like it a lot but with so much to learn it’s often hard to find the time/motivation to sit at a screen for more hours at the end of each day. I find a big carrot, be it a potential prize, or a pay cheque helps to motivate a bit. Also a deadline to work to seems to help me also.

Anyway, I love the idea of time-travel in general and the whole paradoxical nature of it so I thought I’d have a crack at this.
With the comp brief as open as it is you need to pin down your own guidelines first I think. So, it is something you sit in, on? A room, a vehicle, some kind of drug?

A device of some sort? Yep, that sounds right to me a time machine should be a machine right?. A portable one would be handy.

So a device, what does it look like? Form should follow function, at least part of the way anyway, so what does this device need to do.
I love pulling stuff apart and seeing how things work, but for this challenge I kinda need to do the opposite, so wanted to think up a new way to enable time travel, then design the hardware around that mechanism. So after tossing around a some ideas for a few days I came up with this.

I decided I wanted something that could open a portal or tear in space-time to enable the user to step through to their preprogrammed destination time. It’s a gauntlet style apparatus that would attach to the fore arm. It ‘works’ by firing out a ring out that the user is able to step through. Think of a cross between a taser and a portal gun.