I just did an Archviz Interview, but there's something I found weird

Hello CG Society

After 4 years of posting on the forum regarding tips on entering the industry, I finally did get one reply from a studio who invited me for a chance to work.

But before I explain what happened, I have to mention something first. Originally, I was a game artist. But then I went to school again and studied TV/Movie effects. And then a few years after I graduated, I was told my portfolio looked like Archviz and that’s what I should focus all my energy on.

So now… I can mention what happened.

When I went in for the interview, my expectations was this studio is looking for an Artist who can complete a solo project, with the goal of making the renders look as photo real as possible, while also having a library of 3D assets and materials to choose from, in addition to creating custom 3D assets as well.

But on the day of the interview, none of the above was present.

I had a test to create an entire Kitchen from scratch, using only an AutoCAD drawing as a template, and a single photo of the finished kitchen as a target. Everything was to be modeled, textured and lit within 50 minutes. However, there was no other reference material given to me. I couldn’t look up images of chairs or tables, I had to model them myself raw in just the viewport.

Needless to say, I didn’t pass this assignment.

However, even if I did, there was something that didn’t make me happy.

I thought in Archviz, my role would be like any professional modeler or lighting artist, and more time is spent on trying to make images as beautiful and accurate as possible? Instead, what the CEO wanted was really fast 3D renders of tech drawings, using all custom assets made in an hour, regardless of how complex the scene can be.