How Do You Keep Yourself Motivated Once You're Out Of College?

Hi!

I’m jessica. I graduated from a 3 year Game Development program this past April and I’ve found it hard to continue building my portfolio now that I’m out of school. I’ve tried giving myself deadlines on projects but it doesn’t have the same effect as it did in college. I also work over 40 hours a week at a job that is unrelated to game development and I find that drains a lot of my energy.

I really want to get my foot in the door of the game development industry but I know my portfolio needs some work before I can do that.

Does anyone have any tips or tricks to get yourself motivated to finish projects?

-Jessica

When I had a really big personal project to do, I made a calendar with a “to do” list for each day, so I knew in advance what I was going to work on. It helped motivate me to focus and complete it since I had something to follow (as well as knowing I would fall behind if I skipped a day).
Perhaps you can find some game community to contact, and participate in something to build your portfolio while also contributing to a project. That might be of use if you find that you work best in a group environment.

Find time to schedule some exercise and keep yourself healthy by eating well and sleep. Don’t try to burn the candle at both ends because you’ll really lose motivation then. Also do short daily blocks in the morning before work. It’s really hard to do any work at the end of the day. Also keep in mind that if you plan to have a family one day there will be no time for any extra projects. For me personally I had a few projects that I wanted to finish but now that I have a family there is barely any extra time for me to work on them. Good Luck!