EDL in digital workflow

Hi guys, I’m pretty new to editing and I’ve had a doubt about EDL’s and how they are used nowadays. I understand how they were used back in the pre telecine days, but post telecine or digital capture get me kinda confused. So basically when they telecine the celluloid, every frame gets scanned as an image file e.g TIFF so you end up with lots of series of images on your hard drive. I think the same applies when ingesting from digital cameras…for feature films all is converted to digital image files one per frame am I right? So basically…lets say I got a good cut in FCP and want to create an EDL from it and import that EDL into a software like lustre for grading. How does the EDL point to the files on my hard drive or a NAS? does it point to frame 0 of the sequence and then specifies the in and out frames within that file sequence? …

basically my questions are:

1. When ingesting captured footage or film (telecine) in feature films…are both imported as image sequences?

2. Are EDL’s used these days? I find 'em to be really helpful but dont know if they are still used in todays feature film workflow especially when capturing with high end high def cameras like RED ONE and above.

3. In the case of digital cameras where footage is ingested as image sequences, how do EDL’s work in contrast to using film.

4. Lets say I build an EDL in FCP and use it in some grading platform like Lustre, how exactly does the EDL work here?

How does the EDL point to the files on my hard drive or a NAS?
it doesn’t.
It points either to the tape or film roll or whatever source you used.

1. When ingesting captured footage or film (telecine) in feature films…are both imported as image sequences?
    depends what you are doing. When using for editing you dou usually record to tape with picture timecode(showing feet+frames) and digitize again from tape which results in Quicktime files on FCP or *.omf on Avid.