Your Animation workflow :)

hey guys i was jus wondering what your animation workflow was and if you dont mind sharing.

i watched the jason dvd from alias and he said to.

1. black out main action to get basic timing down (stepped keys)

2. refine the timeing/add more poses where needed (stepped keys) (aniticipation poses/reaction poses)

3. change your keys to clamped. work from the inside out, get the body right, then the arms fingers, breathing and so on …

i’m new to computer animation so i was just wondering if there is anything anyone can add to this or clear up.

thx.

How do I approach my animation…great question.

I used to be a strict pose-to-pose guy. I’d block out all my poses w/ stepped keys, shift them to linear, add more poses, etc…and continue.

The problem is, alot of times this apporach will suck the life and spontaneity out of your animation. Everyone wants that “cartoony pose-to-pose snap” in thier animations, but what alot of people misunderstand is that this is not appropriate for every shot/scene you are working on. Sometimes zippy pose-to-pose is great, sometimes fluidity is needed, but you should always be prepared to incorporate both into your shot. For a great example of this, look at the scene in Bug’s Life where Flik discovers that the warriors are circus performers. When he’s trying to think of an excuse to get away from the princess ( a hilarious scene…“trapeze…TRAP them with ease…”) , look at the shot when he says “no…HAHA…strictly BYOB…” He starts off hitting these amazing poses, and then as he walks backwards, things start to loosen up quite a bit. Terrific example of poses and fluidity working together.

So…that being said, here is how I approach my animation.

1. Reference (assuming you are using Maya) your rig into a blank scene. Block out all the poses that you would like to hit with stepped keyframes. Refine the timing of these poses to your liking.