Yes Sir!!!!!

I just got 3D Studio MAX 6 and an appropiate book (the bible)!!! Any advices? Any pointers so I can get a hold of this app?

Practise!!!

Practise!

and…
Practise!!

I just got it too… a few days ago… it’s tough. But I’m improving…
I’d say, work with the polygons and MeshSmooth is great!

But I’m only a newbie. :sad:

Yeah I know what you mean!!! And as an peon Orc from Warcraft would say “Work,work”!!!

Pratice , learn and play. Ive used the last 5 versions including 3d studio release 4, since i was 11.

…im now 24!

eek

I’m a newbie as well but i’d suggest you to take a look at the tutorials, they are really good and through. And be patient !! :slight_smile:

yes! do the tutorials that came with max [that is what they are their for!!!]

and when your not practicing, just fool around, click on things, see what happens. max is huge, even after a year or learning it, you still wont see every rollout and panel.

have fun, and if you get stuck, try it acouple times, the come to cgtalk and ask.

Thx a lot!!! I’ll keep everything in mind!! MAX meet Puppetmastah , Puppetmastah meet MAX your new super best friend!!! :slight_smile:

no one will answer this question better than me.

specify ur role, i mean object modelling? character modelling? animation? or special effect?

that’s it.

Just experiment a lot - and for heavens sake don’t make too much marbles on a checkboard?.. They sometimes get scary impressive but tend not to be found so by other forummembers… hehe.

Welcome to ze wünderbahr world of 3d :wink:

Hey dude, I’ll give you some advice that I wish someone gave me when I first started:

1. Max is HUGE, don’t try to learn it all at once. take manageable bites, it’ll still be there tomorow

2. Pick a single aspect to “get really good at” and branch out from there. (for example, learn poly-modelling really well, then learn how UV’s work, then rendering etc…)