XSI Foundation ... Few Questions Please ...

Hi All,

With the new price of Foundation and the inclusion of the 5 DVD training set Im seriously considering picking up XSI as another tool in the kit bag … Im currently proficient with Maya …

I just have a few questions as to the make up of Foundation (Im totally new to XSI Jargon …so please excuse if some questions are a bit stupid :wink: ):

Also …if there are any work arounds or alternative methods to reach the outlined effect/feature Im all ears

• What exactly is Polygon Reduction ?

• What exactly is Smooth / Relax ? …and is there the ability to just subdivide or convert to SubD to acieve similar smoothing ?

• What is the texture layer editor as Foundation misses that option

• Advanced Rigs, Guides and Motion Deform … what am i missing here ? Can i still rig advanced character setups myself ?

• No rigid body dynaimics …this is a real killer …are there other options for creating/using RBD in XSI ? … why would they give you soft but not rigid ??

• Any disadvantages to not have a stand alone MR.exe ?

• No Batch Processing …surely this doesnt mean that one cannot batch render an animatin from XSI ?

• Custom Display Host …what does this mean ?

• Creation and Editing of Referenced Models* …just like Maya referencing for charcter sets etc ?

• Creation and Editing of Scripted Operators … is this NO scripting…or just reduced scripting ?

THANKS A LOT!!! for all your help here guys…appreciate it heaps!

Cheers

Paul

pretty nifty tool to reduce a polygon count interactively (preserves edges, textures, concave/convex/spikey surfaces) and so on.
all in all the best polyreduction on the market by far, but it’s most useful as a game tool or to reduce scans.
not your everyday occurrence for “normal” artists.

• What exactly is Smooth / Relax ? …and is there the ability to just subdivide or convert to SubD to acieve similar smoothing ?

smooth and relax are really the same operator with different settings.