Where to start with BIG projects?

Hey guys,

I’ve been a hobbyist programmer for a long time now but I’ve never really jumped in and done anything real with it other then some Lightwave LScrips and Maya MEL scripts… A few simple Python things here and there and the usual beginners C/C++ stuff. Lately, I’ve been digging into OpenGL. Anyway, I’ve been noodling around an idea for a bigger 3D project. Much bigger. But I’m having trouble figuring out where to start.

First a little background: I’ve been a CG animator/ Technical director for about nine years now. I’ve had a long time to think about the way I personally want things to work in an animation Program. I’ve collected these features and wrote up a list and even started writing a manual of sorts.

What I want to make is a nice node based 3D animation program. It would be free and run on Linux and Windows. It wouldn’t have a modeler or renderer but instead use LightWave and OBJ format geometry (for Sub-D) and output to RIB and possibly VRay (once the standalone version is released). The Main focus will be on the interface and user interaction. I’m also planning on making it very extensible and open to other programmers so that other people could add things as simple as little plugins to full blown modules and geometry types. So, in that sense it might wined up being Open Source as well.

My first issue is that I know exactly how the program should work; I know what the interface looks like (made a mock up in Flash), how thing act and react and all the features I want in it… But I have no clear picture of how the backside should be organized.