Want to buy a new computer, need advice please.

Hello. So I am new to 3D animation, but I want to start and I need computer. I’m not sure what I want exactly to do, maybe animated movies or video games, will see. First of all, can you explain please what I have to know and be ready? What kind of system do I need? My budged about 4000-5000$, I can buy only desktop, desktop + laptop or only laptop. Even if desktop, I think better option for me is 7-8L mITX case and some portable monitor as Gaems or GeChic. When I use computer, I do usually home (for all other purposes I Have smartphone), but sometimes I have to move to other city or even country, so in this case I think will be better to have something portable.

Anyway, first of all I would like to know what parts to choose - i7/i9 or Xeon, maybe AMD? How much RAM I need? GPU - GeForce or Quadro, or AMD? Do I really need desktop or laptop is a good idea? If so, how much I lose? I don’t know what is small project and which one is big, but I think is going to be bigger every time. Can you provide please some example of small and big projects? I know these are probably stupid questions and maybe wrong topic, but I hope you will help newbie to start. Thank you.

Building the best rig for your budget isn’t an easy task. You must determine your workflow first, especially the rendering engine you’re planning to invest on. A cpu rendering WS is a completely different animal from a gpu rendering WS. So, first of all, you must decide what software you’re going to use, how much time you’re going to spend on each application, and finally, the rendering engine. Your budget is enough for both a decent PC and a laptop.