Vehicle/portal: Stargate from SG Atlantis

Hello everyone,

The ‘rings’ of the gate have been textured (obviously:rolleyes: ) with a bump and specular map, which may be a little hard to see because the view i have given is a tad to far from the object. I have not finished texturing the locks yet. C & C welcome!

Please note that I am still a beginner, but I would like honest critique. Insult it if you have to!

I have included my reference as well. The glyphs on the gate are all hand-drawn with a Wacom.

This is an ok representation of the gate, but I don’t think you should do the detail work with just a bump map and spec map. From what it looks like, you are using a medium res shot for reference, and it doesn’t look right on your model.

Is this for a game? Because if you are limited to polygon count, then that’s a different story.

Here is what my suggestion to you would be.

Keep the locks. They look great. Keep the shape of the ring. Use your texture as a reference, and start modeling the different areas where the symbols are. Don’t model the symbols on the ring though. That would be easier to model seperate, and placed on later. Not unless the symbols are depressed into the gate, I can’t remember. If they are, then you will probably have to model them on the ring.

I would look for a closer view of the stargate as a reference to model from too.

Here is a webpage of a guy who modeled the stargate too. He’s got some detail shots that might interest you.

http://www.shipbrook.com/jeff/raytrace/

thanks alot chad,

This is not for game, I am just a beginner, so I’m not really ready to delve into high-poly models yet. The pictures you suggested are very useful, but are unfortunately of a different stargate. (Even though it looks the same!) The styles of symbols are a little different in SG Atlantis.

I think I’ll follow you’re advice about the model. I should re-do the rings. I was pretty satisfied with the locks.