UT2004 editor, torque engine, unreal engine

Hi this is the first time i post in this section of cgtalk…(i think) Im studying game arts and design, games are my passion. I started learning the art side of games, Im modeling, rigging, and animating, also my drawing skills are improving, but theres also a part of me that loves math and programming, I guess I like challenges in general. So Im planning into stepping further into the world of game development, some friends and I, are forming a game club at school, we want to start messing up, with editors and engines, so my questions are:

We have at school the unreal editor (from the 2004 version) installed in lots of computers, so I wanted to know, what exactly is it possible with this level editor? Ive seen that it has an interface similar to 3dS’max. I want to know, can you import models made in other 3d apps (that are supported) into the editor? does unreal 2004 comes with a rig to use for your models? are you supposed to build the whole level in the editor? or you can also import it from other app? Can you make changes to gameplay from the editor? in general I would like to know what is this editor capable of, and if there more free tools like this for unreal 2004.

Now to the engines: