UI_Shader attribute change based on object selection

Hello I need to write a script to change the ambient occlusion attributes on any mia material , bassically I need to change Samples , Distance, Ambient Shadow Color and Ambient Light color to all selected objects., Im new to Mel so I’m having a lot of problems finding the best way to do so, I have been reading a lot of tutorials and the maya help files, but I can’t make it work , sounds easy but for me is taking for ever.

I just need to know how to list materials for the selected objects
this is my approach:

string $sel[] =ls -sl -mat;
// Result: //

(nothing results of this) “I need to get the following result but just for the selected objects”:

[b]string $sel[] =ls -mat;
// Result: lambert1 particleCloud1 Green red Blue Yellow Purple mip_matteshadow1 phong1 phong2 phong3 phong4 //

[/b]this way I can change any attribute for the selected materials…

PLEASE HELP

Maya is a lot about connections of nodes.
If you select an node. ls -sl will give you what you have selected.
If your node is a material you will get it with ls -sl -mat of course!

But if you have a transform node selected (which is most often referred as “object”) you have no material selected. You need to browse the connections to find the material.
Ok. Transforms have shape children, these are connected to shadingGroups which are connected to a material.

so try this:

global proc string[] getMaterialFromSel()
{
	string $materials[];
	string $shadingGroups[];
	// will give you shapes no matter if shape, transform or components are selected
	string $selShapes[] = `ls -sl -o -dag -s`;
	for ($shape in $selShapes)
	{
		$shadingGroups= `listConnections -type "shadingEngine" $shape`;
		for ($shadingGroup in $shadingGroups)
		{
			// give me all connected things and filter them by materials (not all materials are derrived from "lambert")
			$materials = stringArrayCatenate($materials,ls("-mat",`listConnections initialShadingGroup`));
		}
	}