Treatment writer looking to get started.

Howdy guys me and a friend have started to produce treatments to pitch to movie studios. Seeing as how I am a noob when it comes to this type of thing what would be the best way to pursue this ?

Who do you get in contact with, and should i try to find a agency who can handle this type of thing for me and my friend?

sigh

anything?

No personal experience but I know someone who has known people who have done something like this.

First guy was an animator in the studio who knew someone high up in the studio chain so he was able to pitch it to an even higher up. They liked it-it was something about Noah’s ark i think.

After a few years-and other people’s involvement, I dont know what became of it–but the guy eventually made something like $200 000, maybe just from the original treatment.

The other guy was someone from Canada who went in person to pitch an idea for a tv show to a California studio. He didnt get anywhere and went home depressed.

Without connections, trying an agency would be the most logical step since studios wont look at anything unless its solicited. Getting an agent is a matter in itself.

Whether its an agency or a studio, you should probably have visual aids-good art work, proof of concept test, something more than just a treatment to show.

shrug

Cool Thanks guy at you gave me at least somewhere to start.

Glad you have sorted. Best way is to put your name forward pretty much anywhere and everywhere. A lot of folks don’t do this. The few who work hard get somewhere.

There’s only two ways that I know of… the festival route, or the pitch it to the agent/studios route.

Getting an writing agent is super hard. The old method of mass mailing query letters is a dead art. It’s a bit easier from what I’m told, if you have done something already.