Transparent plastic material Mental Ray

Hi All, I am trying to create a transparent material similar to that of a PET Plastic (water bottle plastic). I am having troubles with existing materials i have used as there are black sections appearing on the model where the material overlaps. Can anyone help out? Cheers

Black areas on a raytraced refractive material could mean that you simply need to increase your raytrace depth settings.

Hi Jeff,
Firstly thankyou, That certainly did alter the overall look of the bottle however there is still a large black area on the bottle where surfaces are overlapping. I tweaked the raytrace acceleration level from 40 up to 200 and and max depth is set at 80. Are there any other suggestions? I really appreciate your help. I am quite new to Mental ray. Cheers Tim

Hi Jeff,
Attached is an image showing the problem area. Again thanks. Tim

Right, so did you increase the raytrace depth settings?

It’s either that, or coplaner faces on the mesh.

It doesn’t look like a trace depth problem, maybe a shadow problem.

Can you describe how this material and scene is set up?

In the scene i am just using one Skylight multiplier 1.
The Material Is a Raytrace Phong, 2 sided diffuse and transparency both white. I.O.R set at 1.4 Specular level 125, Glossiness 60, Soften 0.1.

MAPS
Diffuse map: 100 (falloff) Blue and white with Fresnel falloff type.
Reflect map: 100 (falloff) Black and white with Fresnel falloff type.
Environment map: Kitchen HDRI

Thanks for your help, much appreciated.

Hi Jeff,
Yeah i did increase the raytrace depth increased from 30 up to 330. Bottle looked better however didn’t really help where material is overlapping. Any other suggestions. Thanks Tim