This Forum Looks Terrible

It’s like the code was given to a bunch of first year high school students using Flash… it’s just hideous… particularly with the round circles to the right. The balance of colours, brightness of fonts are just wrong…and will be even worse when gallery images are added… and that’s before getting into the layout and interaction aspects.

There’s an old saying, ’ Don’t try and fix what’s not broken’.

I’ve been designing interfaces and redesigning interfaces for the past 13 years whilst having a degree in it, so yeah… it’s one thing I’m passionate about… I didn’t expect to see this today…

I agree, beside the terrible look it’s barely usable right now

I know anytime UI is changed it can be a painful process, but this UI is AWFUL. Forums are dying everyday due to other forms of communication such as slack, discord, etc. This layout will contribute to the further decline of this board. If it stays this way, I will be using it less.

not to mention that the last 27 days of posts seem to be missing

Well, we don’t see eye to eye on many things, but on this topic, I wholeheartedly agree. I get what they were after, but it’s train-wreck at the moment. Hopefully they continue to tweak it in the coming days.

It’s probably just an interim design until they can come up with something usable.

Agree with everyone that posted … not to mention all the regular posters
that can’t figure out wtf happened. Don’t like having to login every time either.

Time to start looking for something more sensible … sigh !

I haven’t had the login every time issue so far…

https://forums.cgsociety.org/t/cgs-site-update-news/2043865

This is a bit of a shock. But lets be honest this forum has been kinda iffy for a decade.We just got used to it. At least they are working on it now. Lets hope this is not the final offering…