The Bright Side

Well after reviewing the PMG section I’ve reliased that Ther a lot of negative posts. I have decided to try to turn this around. Based on the feature list I purchased Messiah Studio and 2 copies of animate. I am going to START learning this progam tonight. I will post both the good and the bad things about these apps right here. Now, I own a small animation studio in Austin Texas and I am an ex Maya instructor. So my specific goal is to put this in a production pipeline. I will place a PMG specific challenge RIGHT HERE and will show you how we pull it off. So let’s start at the begining:

THE CHALLENGE: A DRAGON IN FLIGHT AND IN BATTLE.

Duration: 10 - 15 seconds

Realistic Appearance

Must have bone and muscle systems

Should use normal maps if possible

Should take advantage of 16 bit displacement maps

Optional: Composite it into a proper enviroment.

NOW I ENCOURAGE ANYONE TO ATTEMPT THE CHALLENGE AND POST THEIR RESULT HERE!!!

MY FIRST STEPS:

#1: So my first concern was that PMG has NO PHONE NUMBER. If you are going to sell to people in production they need to be able to reach you in case of any disasters that may happen. They have been pretty good about email support but as an owner of a production house this concerns me. Email contact causes delays and delays cost money.

#2: There seems to be no displacement maps native in Messiah Studio. (Either I have to make one in their material editor (DOUBTFULL) or I need to write or find a plugin. Please note that there is a big difference between 8bit and 16 bit displacement maps.

#3: I need to research Normal maps in Messiah and see if they have it or if it can be made.

#4: I need to research muscle and bone systems in Messiah.
When I say bones I do not mean standard joints. I mean things like shoulder blades sliding under the dragon’s skin.

#5: The modeling and texuring will be done in Z brush 2