Swtich to Maya from Max ??

Hi Guys,
I am a 3ds Max professional since last 2 years and a character animator and i love to do character studio. i’ve been working on few international tv shows.
But ther are few good projects that are going around are happening in Maya and i’d love to animate them. I have a basic knowledge of maya and am not comfortable with its character setup and animation.
Should i drop my job sometime and learn maya too or shall i just rely on max and continue working whatever i get ?
Is it easy to switch or does it take time ?? Workin on a new package and that too on bone system makes me think it again and again.
Tell me what do you guys think…
Thanxx

my mother always said:
“The English country gentleman galloping after a fox - The unspeakable in full pursuit of the uneatable.”

Don’t leave your job. Download Maya PLE and learn it in your free time. You can also get Tutorial DVDs for Maya, which should speed things up a bit.

Don’t replace MAX, just add Maya to your toolbox.

agreed. if you rely on CS alot in max, you may find it difficult transitioning to ‘manual’ animation in maya. You might want to explore Alias/Kaydara motionbuilder if you have the chance. I can’t remember if they still have that really cheap ‘non-studio’ licence.

my story…
shifted from max to maya ( cos the studio used maya when i changed my job )… it took me less than two weeks to feel comfy with it… i simply love the viewport navigation…though you’ll come across n number of things you will find annoying…things like pivot, grouping… but it’ll be a matter of time…