Sketchbook Thread of Johan Derycke

Stimulated by seeing the first thread on the anatomy series I’ve decided to finally start my own thread. I’ve no drawing background at all since I did my first drawing only in december 2005. However, I’m seriously concidering to go to the local art academy and start the 4 year drawing course in september (as it is now, only practical issues could stop me, being a father and all), but why should I wait until september right?

My spare time (read time to draw and paint) is extremely limited (a couple of hours per week max). and since I’m a real noob at this I’m very slow, so bear with me :slight_smile:
Oh… and don’t expect to see anything outstanding here please hehe
I’m hoping to learn from your crits.
Thanks,

[i][color=Orange]edit: Due to limited webspace I will have to make a choice, namely resizing images or deleting some.

Images from post 1 up to post 122 have been deleted already
Images start to show from here
[/i][/color]

NR43,

Welcome! :slight_smile: I look forward to seeing your work. Don’t worry about not having a lot of drawing experience ~ after 50 heads, you won’t be able to say that anymore! :slight_smile:

Cheers,

~Rebeccak

Thanks Rebeccak,

So I’ve started on the 100heads workshop.
Here’s head nr1 after 30min.

[image deleted to save bandwidth - apologies]

First thing that comes to mind is I have to get this stage on the canvas a lot faster ^^
I’ll update asap :smiley:

ok, had an icecream with the kids and worked a bit more on nr1

spending more time on it than I intended (I thought I would have gotten further with this much timespending) but I guess it’s not the main issue

NR43,

These will definitely go faster as you do more of them, which is completely the point of the exercise. :slight_smile: It’s really helping me as well just to get past the details and simplify. Looking forward to your progress. :slight_smile:

Cheers,

~Rebeccak