Showing procedural textures in viewports

Hi folks,

is there a way to show a procedural texture (checkboard, noise, etc.) in the viewports, just like a texture image or just like any other 3D package does? I’m new to XSI, so maybe it could sound like a silly question…but I really can’t find a way to do such a thing…

thanks,

I think you can through some of the game-based shaders… but in general… no. You’ll get used to it, it would be nice though.

I’ve read that they just added this into lightwave and it’s so slow it’s pretty much useless.

sometimes it could be useful; in this specific case, I’m translating a tutorial from one package to XSI, and I was pretty much surprised to find out that…it just can’t be done…:smiley:

you can get halfway there with lightmaps plugged into clips, but there’s no such thing yet as an OGL counterpart to show the MRay procedurals inside the viewports without MRay being involved at any stage.

I doubt those of us used to having it work will.

Then if it’s slow it is indeed useless. That would be the same as render region/lightmap combo.

The 3ds max solution in this area is very nice. Near real-time feedback in viewport… :slight_smile:

Cheers
Bernard

I did… started in Max.

I’t is slow with many(at my machine with more than 13 layers) layers mixed with gradient or incidence/slope layers per channel.
Sometimes the settings of the procs. make it useless, yes.

The drawing(rendering in viewport) itself is not slow, but the calculations needs some time with complex surfaces.

I think in 9 it will be better, for sure.

I wish MR in render region would be so fast with procs. as fprime in LW.

I've read that they just added this into lightwave and it's so slow it's pretty much useless.