Render speed - OS comparison

Someone recently posted an analysis of Blender Cycles benchmarks, to determine what would be the best hardware to render with Cycles. But what he also compared was the differences between OS and… for me that was very astonishing (and somewhat scary):

Charts image

I would expect some differences, but here we can see that when using CPU, renders on Windows7 are almost twice slower than renders on Linux and Max OSX… With the GPU, Windows is again slower.

It could be because Cycles is working in a special way, optimized for Linux or Unix, I actually don’t know as I’m not a programmer.

But does anyone know if that would be the case for most of the render engines, and especially Mental Ray?

If someone would just need to install Linux (or MacOS) on a render machine to get a 20%-50% render speed increase, that would be the cheapest and the most efficient upgrade ever :slight_smile:

PS: please don’t turn this thread in an OS flame war :wink:

Indeed this would be extreemly interesting if this is the case for mentalray as well.

We did some render tests a while back when a old colleague of mine got the first 12 core mac machines. He installed windows via bootcamp and installed maya on both mac and the windows OS as thought this would be a good way of comparing the 2 OS’s as they are using the same components.

He rendered the same scene on windows and mac using maya 2011 with mental ray and the resulting render speed differences were quite alarming.

On Windows 7 - Maya 2011 - Render Time: 00:15.0
On Mac OSX - Maya 2011 - Render Time: 00:07:5

We tested another scene. (this one not so huge a difference but still a difference)

On Windows 7 - Maya 2011 - Render Time: 00:11.12
On Mac OSX - Maya 2011 - Render Time: 00:09:23

I put this to Autodesk support but they said as they cannot investigate it as Windows running via bootcamp is not a supported platform.

Maybe I should have put this to Mental Images (nvidia) instead.

Rich