Ragdolls and Havok....

sorry all, as you can tell im really really new at this and my english is not so good, but i need help creating a human Character that uses this reactor called Ragdoll. thanks!

I know very little about 3D, but there is a maxscript for applying ragdoll to a character, as long as its a biped I believe. MAXScript > Run Script > rctRagdollScript (its in scripts folder)

If you want to see it in action, make a character studio biped and run the script. It will highlight Bip01 (default name for biped) and all you have to do is click “constrain humanoid” at the bottom.

Go to reactor > preview animation and press P to play it. It will be easier to see the effect if you make a box under the biped, and add it to a rigid body collection. That way, the biped wont fall into infinite space when you preview the animation.

Im sorry if I didnt answer your question, I am a huge noob :slight_smile:

also, there is a video-tut at discreet:
http://www4.discreet.com/3dsmax/3dsmax.php?id=399

(the last one at the bottom)

Ah, thanks ernest. I totally forgot about that tutorial even though I’ve viewed it several times.

I hope I don’t have to dissapoint you. But you will run into problems.
The preview in the havok window will look perfectly cool, but when you try bake
it into keyframes, for game cinematics or rendering, it behaves totaly weird.
That happends because bip01 is not a part of the simulation.
I never managed to solve that problem :banghead: but I wish you good luck.
Maybe you could pm me if you were succesfull.

cheers
flo

I had the same problem but to fix it you create a point to point constraint, parent (I had mine as biped01 pelvis) dunno if works on others, havent tried it, child = biped and i was able to get the ragdoll effect fine :slight_smile:

hey dARCKLOWN
Thanks a lot for that

I will try. Have you managed to get the same result as the viewport promises?

florian - try this patched version of the ragdoll script.