PS7 Painting / Coloring Tutorial

I am patiently wading through the great links in the above thread, but not finding anything I am really looking for. I am a traditional artist at heart, and decided I wanted to try my hand at digital painting. I have PS7 and picked up a wacom as well. I have doodled around, but I am not sure what tools/brushes are best for painting in photoshop, or how to arrange layers for it. If anyone knows any good links for realistic or comic style coloring in Photoshop, I would appreciate it.

painter is probably going to make more sense to you for starting out :slight_smile:

I’ve downloaded the trial of that, I’ll give it a try. I really don’t think I can afford more software right now though. I have seen people posting drawing from Photoshop too, so I would like to see if I can do it all in PS. I am pretty famaliar with it already.

When I used Photoshop, the good old brush and eraser tool were pretty much all I used. Avoid the smudge tool, using the Dodge and Burn tools (those are for photomanipulation, not painting!) and filters. Unless these tools are applied with expertise they’re very obvious. One site I can think of with some decent Photoshop tutorials is Nethersphere.

As for Painter, as a digital painting program, it really does kick Photoshop’s ass. The blending tools in particular are superb. I would suggest picking up Painter Classic off of eBay (it usually runs for between $10 and $25.) You get a lot of the powerful tools in Painter, but it doesn’t cost nearly as much. The biggest downside of Painter Classic is the lack of layers, but the painting and blending tools are worth it.

Laura Dupuy has a collection of links to comic book coloring tutorials over on Comic Colors.