porsche 911 gt3 (absolute newbie!)

Hey all,

first of all, I’m an absolute newbie to modelling… been using maya for 2 months now. I wanted to model a car, and thought I might as well post my progress up here and get some tips from you all.

i tried following the nurbs tutorial for this car on another thread, but it was too difficult for me. modelling this using polys.

i would really appreciate suggestions on how to do stuff… how to improve stuff. it wouldnt help if you told me the model sucks… (cos i know it does!)

here’s my first screenshot. (and the reference image).

once i get the basic shape done, i’ll bevel the edges and smooth out the mesh. (i’m goin for a high poly model)

thanks!

Nice start man, i m not familiar with maya, but still it is a good start,

I hope u r using the blueprints to model this car, it is bit too early for any crit, keep sending the pics,

wow… i couldnt find my post until now!!

anyway… i’ve made a lot of changes since the last one.

i’ve started on optimizing the pieces for smoothing… but thats really difficult (for me) will post some screenshots later.

can someone tell me how i do that cool global illumination render with maya? :smiley: i want my car to look cool too!

p.s. the tyres are just temporary… (i copied them off a previous low poly model)

i’ve started smoothing out parts of the car

heres what i have (these are screenshots… not renders)
[IMAGES REMOVED]

Looking good so far, Handles are boss.

hey…

could you explain what u meant by ‘boss’? hehe… is it good or bad?

sorry! im new to this country :smiley:

thanks

two new screenshots… smoothed out some other parts… and joined the two halves (thats such a pain to do!)

gonna start on the rest of the stuff tomorrow… phew im tired!

hey dude i am also making my first car model in Maya :slight_smile: i have been working with the program for 5 months.
here is a link if you want to check it out :slight_smile:
Link