Poly heads

ive been using max for several years and ive tryed soo many techneques and In my openion for human heads i choose poly modeling but I cant decide what base shape gets a better result a sphere or a 2 sided geosphere… what are your thoughts?

I like using cylinders :thumbsup:

cylinders, interessting …

I’m using a 3-4-2 cube, ePoly, boxing out the basic
shape, et voilá… :smiley:

DrSpline, Check your PMs, send you a present :slight_smile:

yeah i start head modeling from box too

Meshsmoothed cube or low-poly sphere. To be honest it doesn’t matter.

JuRrAsStOiL
those were very nice but i know how to model i just wanted to know how others did it

oh, yeah, hmm, k :smiley:

so, it’s a 3-4-2 cube for me :slight_smile:

well i start out with just a plane in max and use edge extustions to build then main features and then start edge extruding the mesh between the features and finally weld all the section together.:beer:

hmm interesting can i see some of your work?

I tend to draw a hard edged spline for the front and left profiles and then extrude and fill in the holes, making tidy edge loops as I go

Sam

I used to like use spheres as a basis for poly modelling, but soon realised that although it gives you a nice starting shape for making heads all the points converging at the top and bottom can lead to problems. I’d recommend starting with a cube and subdividing it and use the max sphereise modifier to get a less angular shape to start modelling with.

Don’t know about geospheres but don’t you end up with lots of 3 sided polys ?

If you use spheres the poles are where the ears go. You’ll need those edges there anyway. Plus the scull gets nice structure this way.

i never thought about putting the poles at the ears, of course it makes perfect sense to have them there :smiley: