Photorealistic Studio Methods

I am an industrial/product designer and have recently gotten interested in improving my simple “screenshot” style renderings to as photorealistic as possible. So the types of renderings I want to do are like studio shots of objects from small products up to as large as cars, being as photorealistic as possible.

I have seen some incredible quality from Vray and have followed some tutorials i found online regarding lighting setups and render settings and have been very impressed with the results.

I got a copy of 3dword magazine and there was an article in there about photorealistic rendering with “Final Gathering.” And generally I find alot of places talking about FG when renders of this type are in question. As far as I learned, FG is a method where light is bounced from surfaces onto the scene.

I saw FG options in mental ray, however none in Vray. Is FG simply a way to set up the scene and bounce light around? or is it a specific rendering method. I.e. is it possible to use FG techniques with Vray as render engine??

Does anyone have any other tips generally about renders of this type?

“Final gathering” is a mental ray specific term; the general term for this type of GI calculations is “irradiance caching”. Many modern renderers support irradiance caching in one form or another. Specifically in V-Ray, its “irradiance map” engine is close to “final gathering” in mental ray.

Best regards,
Vlado

There is a lot of naming convention confusion when it comes to global illumination. I’ll try to give you a short rundown of what the different things mean:

First off, there’s global illumination. This is a collective name for techniques for the interaction of diffuse surfaces. Basically, light bouncing around in the scene globally. Global illumination isn’t limited to any specific technique.