P4 3.0C GHz vs. Athlon 64 3500+ Socket 939

Hey guys,

I’m brand new to the CGtalk forums. For a few months now, I’ve been nit-picking over what components to get for my very first computer build. I’ve got everything picked except for my final decision on a CPU/mobo. Up until recently, I decided on getting the P4 3.0C GHz HT CPU for my build along with the Asus P4P800 SE mobo. Well… about a week ago a friend of mine suggested to me that I go with an AMD Athlon 64 Socket 939. Being that i’m on somewhat of a tight budget, I can only afford the 3500+ at the moment. But here’s the kicker… between the AMD Athlon 64 Socket 939 3500+ and an Asus A8V-Deluxe Via K8T800Pro Athlon 64(FX) Socket 939 motherboard, I would be spending $300 more than I had intended on spending in the first place. Now, I have done some searching on these forums for a subject similar to this but I didn’t find anything to answer my question. If I missed it, forgive me.

But anyway… my question is this: If I decide to go with the AMD Athlon 64 3500+ Socket 939 that supports Dual Channel memory, will it definitely be worth spending the extra $300 compared to sticking with my original choice of Intel P4 3.0C GHz cpu. So you know for reference, I will be using this computer for Maya, some Photoshop, and gaming (Half Life 2, Doom 3, Counter-Strike, Far Cry etc). Mostly for Maya, though. Will the Athlon 64 be better for me in terms of usage of this computer? Being that I’m new to building a computer, I will not be OC’ing anything at all, either. Would the Athlon 64 be better for me in terms of it not becoming ‘obsolete’ as quickly as the P4 and will it last me much longer? It’s just random questions like these that I need a few answers for. I just keep on struggling with the idea of spending an extra $300 dollars on this system and as to whether or not it would really be worth it being that I’m on somewhat of a tight budget.

On two other notes: