Need Noob Help!

So, im pretty sure ive done this plenty of times, and it always worked fine and now i can not get it to work, its a simple extrude and chamfer, i am so frustrated right now and i cant ifgure out whats going on. I am pretty new to this but i just modeled 90% of a gun and its all coming along very well but im struggling here on this handgrip… i made a video of the issue.

Video of issue

Why are you removing some edges ? you don’t have anymore quads, that’s why it happens … :

You will need to retopology for sure

Tutorial im following

check that video… thats what hes doing and it has no problems.

Originally Posted by Redmond3DAnim:Why are you removing some edges ? you don’t have anymore quads, that’s why it happens … :

You will need to retopology for sure

Don’t bother with that “Tutorial”. There are an awful lot of people creating “How to” videos which are in fact how NOT to do something.
Find decent reference-images and model each separate part, separately.

Agree, as he doesn’t really seem to have good methods in this tutorial, and yes, look closer, he has the same problem than you :wink: :

For a start, apply a UVW Map-modifier to the image-plane and within the UVW Map parameters, choose “Bitmap-fit” to scale the image to the source material.

Then you have to decide if the model is to be “Low poly” to be used in VR/game, or “High poly” (mesh smoothing iterations) to be used in pre-rendered media like video. For some objects the method is the same as there is no point in mesh-smoothing flat objects such as table tops.

I wouldn’t box-model either, but instead start off modelling from a flat plane.

Thanks for your help guys… i actually found my own images im doing a m82A1 sniper rifle, but i just pulled up a tutorial after i started getting stuck with the grip. I couldnt get it fairly clean, this is my first model, im sure its going to be terrible in comparisonto what pros know and tricks to make texturing and laying things out easier.