Need help and opinions.

Hey all.
I just put this little thing together and I need some help finnishing it up.
First of, please give me your opinions on it…
Second, I’d like to get some help when it comes to UV maping this baby. I have no clue as to how to unwrap it… I’m new to texturing.
If someone could take a look at it I’d be very happy :slight_smile:

Best Regards, Mike

2 questios
-Software used?
-What the heck is it?

i could imagine its a pistol or a spaceship ^^

Ah… sorry for being so vague… It’s a spaceship. Software is MAX 6.

I don’t think any of us can really teach you how to UV map in 1 post so your best bet is to find a good tutorial. I recommend poopinmymouth’s tutorials, CLICK! Number 6 and number 7 I think, good luck. And could we see some better angles of your model?

well, i like the model so far. for what is it supposed to be?

everywhere i circled is where you can delete verts. When you have 3 points and the point in the middle is at the same point in space on one of the axies; delete it, you only need tow pints to make a strait line. Also you don’t need to make it water tight. As for UV unwraping that. That’s just about the simplest thing to unwap next to a box. Some guy actually has a tutorial on his website on how th unwrap a box! Anyway in you modifier stack choose UVunwrap, select faces the faces that you want then click planar map, sew the edges together that you want in the UVeditor.

well, i only partly agree with you, EvilTwin. making huge polys out out of those sections (as you suggested with those red lines) may save some tri’s, but on the other hand don’t nesessarily make sense.