n-gons

Hi

I’m totally new to Maya (I’m coming from lightwave), so I have some doubts about Maya sub-Ds (they are quite diferent from subdivision surfaces in lightwave until now)

I made a simple object (all quads) and then converted it to a sub-D, after this I see some “n-gons” on the object (actually I don’t know if those are n-gons or just a way maya uses to represent subdivision surfaces)

How can I avoid these?? Or… do I have to avoid it?

thanks in advance! :thumbsup:

here’s an image showing what I’m talking about:

oh, and sometimes when I convert from polygons to sub-Ds or vice versa, the object seems to be duplicated, so I’m having to delete he duplicated faces one by one! This is really annoying! Am I doying something totally wrong?

thanks!

maya software render = no
mental ray = yes and no

the idea behind sub - d’s in maya is to minimize the topology count when you are refining details in isolated areas

which is great for modeling , a nightmare for rendering

if you want to avoid n-gons you can use proxy modeling insted
or you can

when you render a sub-d in mental ray you will need to colapse you hierarchy to the highest level of refinement, which defeats the purpose, plus you will loose any hard edges you made

maya 6 has a normal map utility, i havent made it work yet , but depending on your detail you could use that with MR

seems to me like they where on to something with there pixar ver of sub ds
but they didn’t develope it enough

Hi Wehrmeister

First, thank you! But I didn’t get it… at least I’m not sure If I undertood it well

I’m coming from lightwave, so in there, if you model an object “all-quad” (only with 4 sided poligons), and hit “TAB” (turn ON subdivision-surfaces), the result will be an sub-D object with ONLY all-quads (no matter the refinment you’re using)… it’s simple and easy…