Michael Cabuco - Visual Development Artist - Sketchbook

Hey everybody, My name is Michael and I’m a visual development artist focused on environments, props, and keyframe design and welcome to my sketchbook. This sketchbook is an extension of my personal 2018 visual development project inspired by the original text of Hans Christian Andersen’s The Little Mermaid. Here is a kickoff idea sheet showing some preliminary environments that I’d like to tackle. My goal is to provide a comprehensive guide showcasing layout, design process, and visual storytelling at a production level. I do have a master project plan in my head, but it’s no good until it’s on paper! As I move forward with this project you will see my thought process, struggles, triumphs, losses, wins, and the overall chaotic beauty of visual development. I can’t wait to share this ride with you all and I look forward to peeking into your sketchbooks as well. Keep driving art forward everyone.

Before jumping into the sketches I like to do a lot of prep work which includes reading the source material. Luckily for me, Hans Christian Andersen’s The Little Mermaid text is widely available and if any of you are interested you can read it here. Not pictured here, but one thing I like to do while reading the source material is to do storyboard thumbnails. In a way, storyboarding is a great way to provide me with visual notes of key story points and key story environments. After I feel confident that I have a general understanding of the story, I move into creating a mind map of the project. The mind map is a great way to stay organized from a visual development point of view. As you can see, this is a preliminary mind map and at any moment it can be modified. Nevertheless, the mind map offers a general blue sky overview of what I’m trying to accomplish. The mind map can be overwhelming, but to make things easier, I’ll be focusing first on my strengths which is story environment design.