Mental Ray "black holes" artifacts

Hi,
i started drawing my home´s kitchen to finally complete its design construction. I´m working with MAX7 and Mental ray. I´m just starting with the geometry and a few shaders, the tiles among these. The problem are those black holes that appear on the walls and sometimes in other places. I think they first appear when i applied the tile´s Shellac material in several objects (nothing happened when it was used in just one).
Do anyone have problems like this one? Maybe is the shellac that doesn´t work well with MR?
My FG settings are quite low: 40 or 50 samples and 100 in GI. The same settings, altought looking low, had worked always for me (maybe a little higher for final pass).
I would apreciate any help.
Thanx

Here´s another example of the same

pixelation is due to compression

I think you need to adjust the number of photons per sample, and the average gi photons per light.

this thread is very informative:
http://www.vizdepot.com/forums/show…tal+ray+samples

hmm… agreed. This happened to me before, when I was using a MRshadow map, I changed it to a Ray Traced Shadows, and the problem was fixed.

thanks to both, for your answers.
I´m do using Raytraced shadows, and tryed fixing things with the photons per sample and FG settings.
I´ll give it a try with the GI photons in the light properties and let you know.
Thanks for the link too.
Cheers

This brings me back to my “shot full of holes” problem, which I brought up in this thread:
http://www.cgtalk.com/showthread.php?t=217279&highlight=mentally+challenged
I never figured that one out, no matter how many different settings I tried. I was just able to shift the holes around. The problem seemed to be with Final Gather - it went away when I turned it off. What I ended up doing was, rendering out a lighting pass with a grey material override, to get a black-and-white light map. Then I layered it up with diffuse and reflection passes, and it came out pretty good.