LW_ChanLum <Free Shader>

ahw heck… :slight_smile:

im releasing this as is, there will hopefully be some more updates because i have the idea its possible to add a few more features…
but since i am not a coder i would love some feedback.

ChanLum for Lightwave

well, sorta light version but well capable of producing some neat SSS-like effects for now…

lava anyone?..

http://members.home.nl/mlon/lw_chanlum

id love to see some renders !! :slight_smile:

have fun,

mlon

holy froodleneutzkies!..the examples look great, downloading now…

That’s quite interesting EsHrA… I’m always interested in all SSS shaders specially since I have to wait before changing my renderer solution.
Too bad for these Lightwave SDK limitations… I guess developers have got used to it by now :rolleyes:
Since I don’t want to be rude, I won’t tell what I think about all these SDK and rendering limitations.

what are the functions you’re planning to add to your plugin? and what if I put a map in the luminosity channel?.. is it going to be taken into account?

I also guess we have to forget about the 'Shading Noise Reduction ’ to be taken into account as well (SDK Limitations again :rolleyes:).

The one I’m using now is ‘Ska’… one of its features which I thing is interesting is the ‘Depth Color’ and the ‘Curve’… do you think It’d be hard to implement these?

Anyway… Thanks for sharing and congratulations for your work… it’s got potentials in it.

The ripper.

PS:I’ll post a test as soon as I’ve got something.

ChanLum use a total different approach and it doesn’t provide SSS but a simulation based on local “area” variations of the Luminosity channel.

It’s really sad in seeing how much LW’s SDK is limited; we all know (developers even really much more… all my praises to them - for what it’s worth)… ok… sorry… I’m blabing a lot!

So… comparing ChanLum and SKA is not possible although they provide similar results in a certain specific usage’s range.