Laptop + External GPU to replace Desktop PC?

Hi there!
I’m a Character Artist and I’ve been looking for ways to cut down on the size of my workstation.
I have a desktop PC that has a Ryzen 1700X, GTX 1080TI and 32 GB RAM.
I just bought a Razer Blade 2018 GTX 1070 16 GB RAM (Planning to upgrading the SSD to 1 TB and the ram to 32 GB) for when I’m on the go and I found that it’s powerful enough to handle most of my tasks. It even handled a 46m .ZTL just fine. Maya viewport did struggle with handling 20k decimated meshes when I was retopoligizing but when I switched over to my Desktop it was fine. I’m not sure if that’s a RAM or GPU issue.

The only time where I think a full desktop PC would be needed is when Raytracing with Arnold using the CPU and/or when baking maps. .But I’m hoping that Arnold GPU will support eGPUs. I’d still keep my desktop peripherals like mouse and keyboard and monitors to get that desktop feel when I’m stationed at home. I think this will also allow me to be saved from the inconvenience of transfering files from one to the other.

Can you guys think of any reasons to switch and NOT to switch over?

How important are space and portability vs. ease of workflow? You’ve already noticed a perfomance drop on the laptop so if you can live with that possibly being an everyday thing then…no problem. Or until you buy the Core X enclosure and a desktop 2080.
The thing to keep in mind is that the CPU speed is a factor in vieport performance. Maya, or Max, or whatever DCC program, or your favorite game still has to rely on the application to get the info to the GPU and tell it what to do to with that info. Most (all?) of the time that is single threaded. Your desktop base CPU speeds are 1.5x the speed of the laptop. Not to mention that there are also 2 more cores on the Ryzen if you need to render on the CPU.
Also thermal throttling and fan noise.
Also, also the Max-Q 1070 is a lower spec version of the “regular” 1070 laptop GPU.