January 2015 - Dylan Pierpont

Alrighty! Finally got a chance to jump in this month. I’m still very new to matte painting and architecture is especially challenging for me, so this should be a fun experiment :slight_smile:

I’m leaning towards #1 at the moment. I’ll probably have to change the skyline a bit to really layer in the buildings. I do like how #3 opens up the scene a bit more though, and adds some foreground elements on the bottom of the frame. So maybe a marriage of the two idea would be a nice compromise.

Thanks for checking in! Looking forward to seeing everyone else’s solutions!

-Dylan

They all look really good to me! If I had to pick one it would be number 3, it just works on so many levels. Really awesome sketches!

Thanks, Aaron! I think I might do that. Keep the bulk of the comp in 3, and pepper in elements from 1. I really need to address the right most vanishing point of the street. Kinda just terminates into nothing really, haha. Might have that street turn a corner or something instead.

Nice job Dylan, I too like number 3, as for the street terminating, streets in london in the new part are gridded layout, however in the old parts you nice curving bends. Think the curving bend may help you out. Nice use of light as well.

The London bridge in your first sketch would be great to have in any option you choose, it really helps reinforce the perspective too, and push scale a lot!

Speaking about the perspective its very awkward in this plate because practically every building converges to a different VP. I just worked mine off the main building which seemed to work to some extent then just fiddled with the transform on a few buildings in the far distance which helped.

@Richard: Awesome, thanks for the tip. You and Aaron know better than most of us how the cities are laid out. Appreciate it!