Jack Kilyan - Digital Matte Painting Projection Project

Hi everyone,

my name’s Jack and I’m currently a final year student at Staffordshire University here in the UK, studying VFX and Concept Design. I’m just about to embark on my final project which I can choose to do on any topic I want, and after spending the last two years learning about different methods and paths within our industry I’ve decided to aim towards a career in matte painting and environment art.

My project is set to run for the next twelve week’s and I thought it would be a great chance for me to make a thread here so I have a condensed place to post, and also post (hopefully) on a weekly basis with updates on the project and get any advice I can from this great community!

My inital idea:
To create a matte painting projection CG shot to the highest standard possible.

Inspirations:
I want to create something along the lines of this, an amazing shot my Levi Peterffy.
http://vimeo.com/80501593

I’m probably going to tackle it a bit differently than he did, and I want to use world machine for my base, I’ve learn’t a lot from the matte department tutorial!

Also seeing as this is my first REAL attempt at this full workflow I know I’ll hit a ton of roadblocks along the way and I really hope I can gain some knowledge from this community and achieve something even near a quality standard.

Anyway that’s my little introduction, I hope this post is ok being in this thread and I’ve not accidentally posted where I shouldn’t! Thanks for reading everyone, I’m looking forward to the next twelve week’s :smiley: