Interior Architecture: office building

Hey. This is my first architectural environment. Right now all that has been modeled is the basics. I am concerned with the lighting. I could really use some tips on lighting. Thanks.
Here is my render so far:

Thats really good man. Sorry i dont know much about lighting or i’de help you with that. :smiley: so far so good! Please keep us updated.

:slight_smile:

Yeah, I agree with Tadus. The lighting is lacking. It’s such a bright day outside, but a little too dark inside.

From the picture it looks like you have spotlights coming from the top. You should have some more come from the window… sounds kinda obvious, but that’s where real light would come from. Although I’m no expert either, I know everything needs to be played with a little bit to get the desired effect. Just keep playing with it… add more, move around.

Thanks for the comments… does this update improve the lighting?

But your scene misses some shadows coming from the main light.
Try to use a big area light for it (dont know what program you’re using) and make it to cast shadows. then add a point light(omni) inside that places. This is the base lighting, then you could add extra lights ie coming from the left wall to simulate bouncing light and so…
Or your a Global Illumination rederer , Final Gathering, or something from your program that doesnt indirect illumination for you.

Hey Waters,

Reaslly nice work there… I like the way the sharp angles and the color palette contribute to the cold atmosphere.

I can’t offer much advice in the way of lighting… (looks like you’re getting good stuff from some others, though)… I might suggest two things:

1) Have you considered any art on the walls?  It might bring the picture to life a little more.  It may be nice to break up the gray with some color.  Especially if you find the right art... the kind that's usually hung in office buildings.  (pretty enough, but not too distracting/muted/usually a series of pictures)