Individiual Environment to Reflect for an Object in the Scene.

For 2 days now, I’ve been trying to create a reflection on an object in my scene. I don’t want other objects to reflect that environment, I want only only this particular object to do it.

I used an Env Ball Node as I read in some tutorials, but it doesn’t work. First of all the reflection from the env ball is blending incorrectly with the material’s surface color. It should be multiplied but the effect I’m getting is sorta additive. Secondly the reflection doesn’t disappear where the ground plane starts, causing a double exposure effect. Here’s the render I got…

http://img27.imageshack.us/img27/6967/676756.jpg

Please help me. I’m sick of this. Please tell me how to achieve this effect & pretend that I’m a total beginner in maya, hypershade & shader networks.

& One more thing if it won’t trouble you. Could you please tell me how do you know all this stuff?
All these tricks, nodes (sample compositing nodes, all these connections).

I mean; I watched EVERY DIGITAL TUTORS video about rendering TWICE! In none of them even these simple things were mentioned, not even a little bit! In some tutorials I read online, I look at the shading network screenshots people post. I don’t have a clue about any of the nodes & connections between them. What am I missing? Can you recommend me some books? tutorials? I don’t feel myself good please help me…

Reflections aren’t “multiplied”. The result looks kind of correct, however you could turn down the Color Gain under your reflected file node so it appears a little darker and also make the reflection is fresnel. I think that’s your main issue.

Could you please tell me how do you know all this stuff?

No ones does! Just keep it simple. Only build a complicated network if it’s needed - otherwise keep it as simple as possible. IMO this is the best way to do things.