I'm new to this... (nudity)

I’m new to digital painting. There are so many great artists here and I feel so small. I am so inspired by their works though. :thumbsup: especially by linda’s. :love:

Here’s something I’m working on. Critiques are very welcome. :bounce:

LOL, who isn’t inspired by Linda?

This looks really good. Is this your first digital painting ever? I think your only problem is your blending and your use of color. Don’t be afraid to use bolder more saturated tones, especially in shading skin. Also contrast will really help define your shapes and separate things, like the hands on the feet. Your anatomy looks really good. The hair could use a little work, don’t over detail it. Actually, if you go to Linda’s website and check out her “Thoughts on Smooth Blending” and “Hair” tutorials, they could really spice up this picture. Very good so far though, keep it up!

thanks for the advice. i will certainly keep it in mind the next time i do another figure painting. you’re right. my skintones look too pale and chalky. :sad:

i was actually reading linda’s hair tutorial while i did the hair for this one. unfortunately i could not avoid the pitfalls she mentioned as my OC’ ness kept kicking in. :smiley:
oh and yep. this is my first somewhat official digital painting. i have lots of doodles. :bounce:

I made the silly mistake of using the wrong brushes for the foreground. I definitely lack sleep. lolz.

mental note to self: “make custom brushes!”

I tried putting up a background for this one. Now the skintones look even more faint and chalky. :sad: Oh and the butt seems to need some sort of correction. She looks like she’s floating right now. What else am I missing?

It looks like she’s floating because the skin at the points where it touches the ground should also be much darker just like you’ve done with the ground. You’re off to a very good start.

You’re right. I need to work on that one. Thanks for the comments. :slight_smile: