I need help building a renderfarm!

Right now I have a pentium 4 3.0 gig system with 1 gig of ram. For all my cg work I use Cinema 4d. I’m getting real tired of waiting on my renders so I thought I would build an el cheapo renderfarm so that I can still use my main computer.

WARNING:I am no proffessional, so please understand the low specs. It’s not like a company renderfarm.

I was planning on using
three 1.5-2.0 gig pentium 3’s (all will be the same speed and model)
three sticks of 512mb pc2100-2700
three motherboards with onboard ethernet ports
Three 10 gig hardrives
Three 250 watt powersupplies (one for each board)

I’m custom building the case myself out of acrylic.

Right now I need help finding out what software to run it on and how to connect them to run as one. Should I use a program that divides up the task? If I base it on Linux can I connect a widows computer to it to send it the task.

I know I can build it but the software problems have me going nowhere.
I guess every 16 year old has his limits right?

Please someone give me a nudge in the right direction.

These Links may helpftp://ftp.futurenet.co.uk/pub/3dworld/resources/tdw29tut_render.pdf
http://www.maxon.net/index_e.html