How to fix white fringe from sharpening in green screen footage

TL;DR: It appears I somehow missed or overlooked a sharpening setting when I shot green screen footage for a school project, giving all of the foreground subjects whitish fringes around the outside. Reshooting isn’t really an option, so I’m looking for any advice as to how I would lessen the influence of the artifact during keying.

Hi everyone,

I’m new to this whole forum thing so I apologize if I posted this in the wrong section. Just a warning, I realize this post is long, but I wanted to make sure I explained my problem thoroughly.

I’ve been working on an extensive school project that involves NUKE (10.5v1). Long story short, I want to see how to Keylight, Primatte, and Ultimatte nodes perform in comparison to each other with common keying obstacles such as hair detail, motion blur, and spill. Besides comparing them subjectively by just looking at the keys, I wrote some scripts to provide objective results as well, so it’s my hope to not tamper with the footage in any way besides using the keyers and a basic Denoise node.

However, when I looked at the footage, I noticed there was a light gray/white fringe artifact around the foreground subjects in every single shot. The green screen may have been a little hot, but it was lit pretty evenly and there were no rim lights or back lights. This doesn’t bother me too much for the spill scenes since I could just choke the matte, but it is a problem for the motion blur and especially the hair detail scenes.