how to be animator?

What is the standard of a animator in big studios?

What attributes do the studios look for when employing animator ?

Are you looking to get started or have you already dabbled in animation?

Actually i am studying digital graphic, and have some knowledge about animation.
So i want to know what i have to learn and work hard on to become a animator…

good observational skills and memory

why memory?

“why memory?”

Example…My animation task today (hypothetically speaking) is to do a walk cycle while lugging a bazooka in one hand and the other hand is free, i.e. not clutching anything.

When you walk without bearing weight with your hands, your arms have a cycle of their own, correct?

I have observed (as matter of fact) that if I’m walking and carrying, say, a case of beer, my free arm will still have some cyclical actions whereas my beer-clutching-arm is restricted by the weight of the six pack.

So…when I do my animation assignment…if I remembered what I have observed…then I not only have the idea of the animation mechanics involved but also the feeling of carrying a heavy weight in one arm…and walking (this is where acting skillz come in).

These observation and memory skills also work in other artistic endeavors like drawing the figure or modelling. After observing from life a lot (maybe with the aid of a sketchbook) you’ll be able to spot anatomy errors or bad proportions in your own work and others.

really great ideas!!
thanks!!!