How long have you been trying to get in?

I recently graduated with a degree in Digital Animation. Its only been 3-4 months since I’ve started to look for a job in the 3d industry, and Im disappointed that I havent even one interview.
Over 30 demo reels…

How long has anyone else been trying to get in?

Any professionals out there want to critique my website? Tell me if Im just not skilled enough yet? Where to practice?

THanks.

Hmmm…I can’t fault your site. Perhaps a few animations?

My best recommendation is to buy “Computer Arts special - Digital Portfolio”. It was released today at newsagents.

Are you Freelancing? :hmm:

hey man, Im no pro, but I can give you a little feeback after viewing yoru site.

First off your 2d work is really strong, some sketches you did (the skeleton bird guy is sweet) are really well done.

I would work on texturing, Your going for low poly, and textures make or break low poly. Right now, they are pretty weak. And on such low poly work, it doesnt let your work shine.

Next off is content, I see you have a zelda n64 look to your stuff, but employers probably wnat more of a range. I dont see any humans in your portfolio for 3d…which is ok, (the dwarf is tyhe best in your 3d area, but once again, the texture hurts it)

I would work on some higher poly stuff to, games are moving ahead and right now you have some very low poly stuff, which is fine and good, but you should show range.

In closing heres whats probably getting you less postive response

1. Texturing
  2. Lighting, this can really sell your work.
  3. Modeling (show a broader range of stuff)

Also I would be more selective of what you show, the dragon is very nice, as is the dwarf, but the rat/tank thing is pretty sloppy looking. And the fairy girl needs something else to it.

I would really get back to square 1 on whats on your reel before applying anywhere else.

Sorry if this sounds harsh, but sugar coating won’t help you out.

Re: KingMob.