How can I erase powerlines from footage?

Hi all,

Im a newbie and I am shooting a short film in 3 days. Its a period film but this one shot on location has power lines and a station in the distance which I need to remove in post. I saw that they did this in Alias, Indiana Jones and many other films, does anyone know how I can do the same thing?

I am using After effects 5.5 and Combustion 3. Do any of these do the job?

Any assistance would be most appreciated.

Thanks.

both programs have a cloning tool. Sample a pixel or two away from the powerlines and try to fill in the space which would be behind it. Depending on how many frames you have, i’ll take a while. I would recommend learning about some of the cloning tools before using it.
Another way would be duplicated the picture and setting the background one 2-3 pixels up or down. By erasing the forground wire this will reveal the background which you’ve offset. In some cases it works, and with others it doesn’t.
Another way would be looking online for some wireremoval skills.

Hope that helps

Is the camera in motion or still in the shots where things need to be removed?

i would suggest combustion.
i use combustion every day to paint stuff out.
i wouldnt try to do it in after effects.

if you need any help setting it up let me know :slight_smile:

Hi Guys,

The camera is on a track and a jib. The camera tracks up and forward, following a character all the way to the top of a mountain. When he gets up there, theres they large powerstations and power lines on the other side that are visible that I need to remove.

Thanks for all your help.

Is what you need to remove shown only against the sky, or is it against other stuff like trees and rocks?

Both the sky and against forest and mountain areas