HMC#25 The Oceans - Cleaner shrimps at work on moray

Hi,

This is my first attempt at HMC. I’ve been lurking on this forum since the beginning, and recently thought about trying it. This subject is great, so here’s my concept for my submission. I am going to create a diorama depicting two morays and many shrimps. The main idea is to reenact a shrimp’s courageous attempt at getting food from the mouth of a large moray. I will start in Max, then move on to zBrush, and finish the render in Max MentalRay. Here is my main reference for the whole scene.

http://www.earth-touch.com/result.php?i=Cleaner-shrimps-at-work-on-eel

and the base mesh for the moray done in max:

Here’s a small update, a first zbrush pass.

Nice start and sculpt so far. These shrimps sure are courageous, to go inside the mouth of the moray eel like that!
Since you are going for a diorama, would be cool if you sculpt a rock with a crevasse or a sunken log since moray eels spend the majority of their time hidden at these kind of places, the head out, waiting for preys.

I had some time today at work to finish both the first moray and the open mouth version.

Yes indeed, they are really impressing. I hope to realistically portray the dangers the shrimps must withstand to survive. I will probably create a crevasse with some plants and fishes. Thanks for the idea of the sunken boat, I think it’s a great idea but I prefer to keep going with vegetation and rock. So I’m done for today. Tomorrow I will start the environment.

Awesome choice. That is a seriously intimidating eel you made. I like the detailing so far. Do they really have that second level of teeth in the back of their throat?

loving the amount of detail on this one!! keep up the good work dude! :bounce: