HMC #12: Grand Buddha at Ling Shan

i decided to do the buddha at ling shan for this challenge. its my first time entering one of the HMC challenges, but im sure it will be fun.

i started to sculpt the head first to get a feel for the piece. just using a box for the base ill probably end up re-topologing it later in zbrush.

Ref1:

more updates soon!

So far so Kool !

heres an update with some of the clothes on. the head is not quite right yet but ill get to all that stuff soon.

awesome fabric modeling.

Im loving the idea too, keep it up!

heres an update. i started doing some tests with mental ray + ps to see what i can get as far as a gold/bronze look. i really want to push the colors in this piece and give it a somewhat styilised look. also i plan for this to take place in the near future with the idea that the temple has been abandoned and their are bums laying around and trash and stuff. should be a challenge but i think it will turn out nice.

wow, nice work, and so much already!

i just did some more tests with the overall look of the piece today. also modeled some more of the base for the statue. (not textured yet) but any imput on the composition or anything in general really is more than welcome.

wow you’re off to a running start! very cool keep it up =)

damn, looks really impressive already. It conveys the huge size already very well.

Just something, that I think is different to the original is the Head. I think it should be even a bit wider. But I’m not sure about this, because the camera angle seems to be different in the ref-pic.

thanks guys! heres another update:
(i might be done with this one soon enough to start another entry for the contest!)

Well you certainly cracked ahead on this one!, very good.
The overal impression looks very nice. A turntable would be nice to see.
Are you planning on adding the detail in the folds, and the patterns?