Help Writing Story

Hey everyone,

Thanks for checking out the post. Simply put, I’m having some trouble developing a story.

The assignment:
For my 2-d Animation class, I have to create a short animation that tells a story. The story doesn’t have to be elaborate; it just has to have a beginning, middle, and end. The entire animation will probably be about 40-60 seconds long to give you an idea of the time frame I’m working with.

This is my first attempt at creating a short. Any suggestions/pointers/ideas would be greatly appreciated. :smiley: :smiley: :smiley:

Here’s one idea I had for a comedy short. It’s very rough, so anything can be added, taken out, or changed

One day, a curious boy exploring the woods near his house stumbles upon a small wreckage (illustrated as a small pile of metal scraps and tangled wires). The boy wonders what it is and what business it has in the woods. Being a curious fellow, he brings the pile of scraps home and places it in the corner of his room, next to his robot posters. While he’s sleeping at night, the pile begins to transform.

When the boy wakes up, the pile is no longer a mound of scraps, but a metallic entity in mid-transformation. The boy jumps out of his bed and watches attentively. The entity slowly begins shaping itself – first an arm, then a head… With each passing moment, the figure becomes more identifiable. (The transformation scene would be very long and exaggerated. I want to make it to look and feel as dramatic as possible; powerful movements, vivid colors, and over-the-top ideas).