Glare Shader

Hi, I’m afraid I’m a newbie at all of this so you will have to bare with me.

After reading some great threads on here, I saw that you need to use a Glare Shader (which is hidden) to make a window glow, basically.

Then I see that you have to open lume.mi. Go down to the gui_Glare section a little way down. Once you get there you will see “hidden” a few lines after this. Well on all the posts I have read it says to delete this and then delete the comma after “-tag” on the line above. Then save the file.

Open up max set the renderer to Mental ray and click on the Renderer tab in the Render Scene box go down to camera shaders above half-way down and click on Output and then when the box opens Glare (lume) should appear there, but it doesn’t.

Am I missing something, I have only been using Max for about 2 weeks, so you will have to excuse my basic knowledge, do you have to leave the " ", when you delete hidden or something.

Thanks in advance.

if it was:
“-tag”,
“hidden”

it should be:
“-tag”

and a little tip to avoid crashes:
if you want to test streaks first choose the image otherwise it would kill max.

I would love to see this shader viewable real-time in the viewport with nVidia’s new cards since it is now part of their real-time feature list.

instead of using glare, just add an effect, blur, then blur by luminence. you get the same ish effect, plus its easy to set up, and quick to work.

There’s also an extra script that’s on the 3dsmax CD’s that does this as well.

Jeff

I digged into it and there are some nice features both for composition as a seperate pass and for streaks

what I couldn`t do yet is to change the size of the streaks, if you find the solution post here.

Could someone recomend me a Maya documantation or XSI about the glare shader?

I can’t find anything about max :surprised

What’s wrong? Can’t make it work :hmm:

change the quality to atleast 3.